top of page

Helping With Home Town

These past few weeks have been slow since the show started filming reveals. I have been helping Sarah with her clients as usual and Friday I had an exciting new experience. I got to help with the HGTV Home Town show. I worked with the head designers of Home Town, Amanda Connolly and Blake Erskin. They are so much fun to work with and I love seeing how their creative minds put together such amazing designs. I had a surreal realization while working, growing up I watched HGTV all the time and that is what got me interested in wanting to become an interior designer, so now I was actually getting to be a part--a very small part--of an actual HGTV show! While working Erin Napier walked through to make sure everything was coming along nicely, she even had a couple design suggestions to make sure the house was ready for the reveal. I didn't get to meet her because I was doing something but I have met her husband Ben before. I got to meet the producer of the show and other crew members. There are actually two Southern Miss interior design alums who work on the show and I got to meet them. The house was beautiful and I can't wait to watch the show to see the reaction of the clients.

In other news I got to work with two Southern Miss interior design students, Paige Landry and Paige Billings, two different Paiges haha. I had to go to Anderson Design Center in Hattiesburg to get some tile samples for Sarah and while I was there I got to see Paige Landry. She has been interning there this summer. It was nice getting to see her and ask her how her internship was going. Paige Billings is a semi new interior design student, she took some classes and then wanted to try a different major but found out that interior design is what she wants to do. She is helping with the show so Friday I got to spend the day with her telling her about the program but also getting to know her.

As my internship comes to an end I hope I get to work on the show again but we will see what happens.

bottom of page