top of page

Sarah's Right Hand Woman

Interning with Sarah has given me insight on what it would be like to own my own business. I have gotten to do a lot of things I don't think I would have been able to do if I had interned with a bigger company. I've talked to vendors about setting up accounts and put in orders. I have gone to job sites with Sarah to install draperies, rugs and other things with the remodel clients she has, and I have also gone to a construction job site to see progress for a home renovation. I have gone to the same job site alone to give the contractor an electrical plan or to take progress pictures and match samples so, I have gotten to speak with the contractor many times. I have been able to get first hand interior design experience since it is a small business. I am getting to see the design side but also, since I work at Lott Furniture I get to see the furniture sales side of interior design. As mentioned before in my blog posts I have been able to make vignettes for the store. On a daily basis I get to hear and see how they interact with the customers, and I have even gotten to talk to a vendor about which furniture they should order with one of the girls who work there. I am hoping I get to experience how they film the show, so stay tuned to see if that happens.

bottom of page